72 Representatives Know What America Needs, and It Is Not a Tax Hike

David S. Addington, The Foundry

Seventy-two Members of the U.S. House of Representatives, including Representatives Patrick McHenry (R-NC) and Jim Jordan (R-OH), have joined 33 U.S. Senators in standing tall against continued overspending, overborrowing and overtaxing.

In a letter today to the congressional Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, known as the Supercommittee, the 72 Representatives hit the nail on the head: “It is evident that America has a fiscal crisis because Washington spends too much, not because it taxes too little.”  Their letter made clear what will happen if the Supercommittee leads Congress to increase taxes: “Increasing taxes on Americans would destroy jobs, erase all hope of an economic recovery, and simply serve to feed out-of-control spending in Washington.”

The Heritage Foundation has called upon the Supercommittee to “drive federal spending down — including by fixing ever-expanding entitlement programs — toward a balanced budget, while preserving our capability to protect America, and without raising taxes.” It can be done, and the Supercommittee can do it.  To show them how, Heritage sent each member of the Supercommittee the detailed Heritage plan for “Saving the American Dream.”

The Supercommittee has a chance — one chance — to get it right.  More taxes means more government and a worse economy.  The Supercommittee should recommend legislation that rests on three pillars: (1) cut non-security spending, (2) maintain defense capabilities, and (3) do not hike taxes.

The eyes of America are on the twelve members of the Supercommittee as they make their choice in the coming week on what to recommend to Congress.  They can choose to be the Trustworthy Twelve who finally control spending and put us on the path to fiscal responsibility.  Or they can choose to be the Dirty Dozen who just give up and hike taxes on America.

America knows it can count on the 72 Representatives and 33 Senators who stood up and spoke out against a tax increase.  Can America count on the 12 members of the Supercommittee?

The letter they wrote:

Dear Representative Hensarling, Senator Murray, and Members of the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction:

It is evident that America has a fiscal crisis because Washington spends too much, not because it taxes too little. According to the non-partisan Congressional Budget Office, tax revenues will reach or exceed the historical average of 18 percent of economic output by the end of this decade, even as spending continues to increase at an unsustainable rate. Increasing taxes on Americans would destroy jobs, erase all hope of an economic recovery, and simply serve to feed out-of-control spending in Washington.

Thus, as you continue the important task to reach a deficit reduction agreement, we ask that any policies the Joint Select Committee prescribes not increase Americans’ tax burden. With current levels of taxation already limiting economic growth, we believe that marginal rates must be maintained or lowered and that repeal of any tax credit or deduction be offset with an equal or greater tax cut.

Although there are diverse beliefs toward specific policies that should be included in any deficit reduction plan, we must recognize that increasing the tax burden on American businesses and citizens, especially during a fragile recovery, is irresponsible and dangerous to the health of the United States.


1. Todd Akin (MO-02)
2. Steve Austria (OH-07)
3. Michelle Bachmann (MN-06)
4. Roscoe Bartlett (MD-06)
5. Joe Barton (TX-06)
6. Rob Bishop (UT-01)
7. Diane Black (TN-06)
8. Marsha Blackburn (TN-07)
9. Mo Brooks (AL-05)
10. Paul Broun (GA-10)
11. Ann Marie Buerkle (NY-25)
12. Dan Burton (IN-05)
13. Francisco Canseco (TX-23)
14. Steve Chabot (OH-01)
15. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
16. Jeff Duncan (SC-03)
17. John Duncan (TN-02)
18. Blake Farenthold (TX-27)
19. Stephen Fincher (TN-08)
20. Chuck Fleischmann (TN-03)
21. John Fleming (LA-04)
22. Bill Flores (TX-17)
23. Trent Franks (AZ-02)
24. Cory Gardner (CO-04)
25. Scott Garrett (NJ-05)
26. Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
27. Paul Gosar (AZ-01)
28. Trey Gowdy (SC-04)
29. Sam Graves (MO-06)
30. Tom Graves (GA-09)
31. Tim Griffin (AR-02)
32. Frank Guinta (NH-01)
33. Andy Harris (MD-01)
34. Randy Hultgren (IL-14)
35. Tim Huelskamp (KS-01)
36. Bill Huizenga (MI-02)
37. Bill Johnson (OH-06)
38. Jim Jordan (OH-04)
39. Mike Kelly (PA-03)
40. Steve King (IA-05)
41. Raul Labrador (ID-01)
42. Doug Lamborn (CO-05)
43. Jeffrey Landry (LA-03)
44. Don Manzullo (IL-16)
45. Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
46. Michael McCaul (TX-10)
47. Thaddeus McCotter (MI-11)
48. Patrick McHenry (NC-10)
49. Jeff Miller (FL-01)
50. Mick Mulvaney (SC-05)
51. Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
52. Alan Nunnelee (MS-01)
53. Ron Paul (TX-14)
54. Steve Pearce (NM-02)
55. Mike Pence (IN-06)
56. Ben Quayle (AZ-03)
57. Phil Roe (TN-01)
58. Dennis Ross (FL-12)
59. Steve Scalise (LA-01)
60. Jean Schmidt (OH-02)
61. David Schweikert (AZ-05)
62. Tim Scott (SC-01)
63. Steve Southerland (FL-02)
64. Marlin Stutzman (IN-03)
65. John Sullivan (OK-01)
66. Scott Tipton (CO-03)
67. Tim Walberg (MI-07)
68. Joe Walsh (IL-08)
69. Allen West (FL-22)
70. Lynn Westmoreland (GA-03)
71. Joe Wilson (SC-02)
72. Todd Young (IN-09

Hat tips:  Billie Tucker & FloridaPoliticalPress.com

About Alan Berkelhammer

Opinions are my own and are not necessarily those of any organization or group.
This entry was posted in Budget, Constitution, Debt, Economy, Legislative Branch, National, Taxes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply